Past President Report

Michael Donoghue, 12 July 2023

Elections Committee

Members: Michael Donoghue (Yale, Chair), Kathleen Pryer (Duke), Michael McKain (U. Alabama), Lauren Eserman (Atlanta Botanical Garden) Imeña Valdes (Northwestern U.), Graduate Student Representative, and Norm Wickett (Clemson), Secretary, ex officio

Nominations were solicited for five open Board positions:

- 1. President-Elect
- 2. Director-at-Large for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
- 3. Director-at-Large for Development
- 4. Program Director
- 5. Student Representative

16 nominations were received by 1 February 2023: 1 for President Elect, 1 for Director-at-Large for Development, 2 for Director-at-Large for Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, 2 for Program Director, and 10 for Student Representative. These nominations were carefully considered by the Elections Committee via Zoom and email, and many additional suggestions were proposed and evaluated. Potential candidates were contacted by the Chair to determine their willingness to stand for election. On this basis the following Ballot was put forward by the Committee and was approved by the BSA Board.

President-Elect

Joe Williams, University of Tennessee

Qiuyun Jenny Xiang, North Carolina State University – elected!

DEI Chair

Madhav Nepal, South Dakota State University

Karolina Heyduk, University of Connecticut – elected!

Development Director

Jennifer Cruse-Sanders, State Botanical Garden of Georgia – elected!

Program Director

Melanie Link-Perez, University of Tampa - elected!

Student Representative

Josh Felton, Colorado College – elected!

Natalie Dietz, University of Montana

Deannah Neupert, Miami University of Ohio

Ritu Yadav, Indian Institute of Science Education and Research Bhopal

Note that in two cases (Development Director, Program Director) incumbent candidates ran unopposed. The Committee favored this approach in these cases on the view that it would benefit the BSA to leverage their experience in these positions.

Corresponding Members Committee

Members: Michael Donoghue (Yale, Chair), Cynthia Jones (U. Connecticut), and Linda Watson (Oklahoma State U.)

One nomination was put forward by Linda Watson: **Gonzalo Nieto Feliner** of Royal Botanic Garden of Madrid, Spain. In addition to the nomination letter, others were received from Patrick Herendeen, Marcial Escudero, and Inés Álvarez. All letter writers also provided signed Professional Conduct Disclosure Forms, in line with our recent decision to require such disclosure. Note also that two of the letter writers were from the country of the candidate, in accordance with our newly approved procedures. The Committee notes that this nomination is peculiarly appropriate at this time, as Gonzalo is serving as President of the International Botanical Congress to be held in Madrid in 2024.